The Contest of Life

18 Apr

I realized a pattern.  Two awesome contests appeared encouraging particpants to create content and enter to win the prize.  My immediate reaction was… ‘yeah that is cool – but I’ll never win so I’m not even going to bother’. Really?  Well at first it made perfectly good sense until I started hearing that line twice.  I was giving myself this underlying message, you don’t really matter, so just take a seat and stay quiet.  Ha!  Well I decided to show myself and start acting like I mattered – because I certainly do. So I got to work – I made a video for a contest hosted by my school – Institute of Integrative Nutrition that shared my process of getting to where I am now.  The quality isn’t great – but I am proud of the content that flowed out of my mouth.  You can take a blurry look here.  Then I entered a contest hosted by Kathryn Budig – challenging participants to replicate this picture and share what yoga means to them. kb Again first thought – cool – but I’m not that creative and I will just be wasting my time.  But then I acted like I was worth it.

And there you go.  Am I attached to win? No.  But I am thrilled I took a few minutes from my day to show myself that I rock – even though some of the first thoughts that come into my brain might tell me otherwise.  The beauty is I get to choose.

Do these same limiting beliefs keep you safe & quiet?  I’d love to hear.

2 Responses to “The Contest of Life”

  1. ashleymeeder April 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Leah! AWESOME POSE! I had this open on my computer and Rames saw it and was like “WOW! Is that leah? Tell her its an awesome picture.” You go girl. Maybe you should make your own contest! MWAH!

    • leahannefox April 19, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      Oh boy! My own contest- good idea. 🙂 ❤ you.

Leave a Reply

