Starting the Day in a Deliberate Way

28 Oct

I used to start the day by waking up and immediately reaching over for my phone.  I would automatically and mindlessly check my email, Facebook, and whatever else.. all within 1 minute of opening my eyes to a brand new day.  I began to realize I could start my day in a much more thoughtful way, and now this is what my mornings looks like:

  • Wake UP
  • Wash up
  • Drink water
  • Get down on my yoga mat and wake my body with some cat/cows + down dogs + cobras + childs pose
  • Sit and breathe for 10 minutes
  • Set an intention for the day

Then I am free to check my phone…

In order to feel grounded and ready for my day, I need to take this time to get clear about the day.  Lately, I have been meditating for at least 10 minutes before I move on with the rest of my day.  And don’t think when I say the word ‘meditate’ I am sitting with an empty mind, completely enlightened, watching my breath… haven’t gotten there yet!  My mind normally is a big swirl of thoughts, and I just work on watching them and observing rather than reacting.  A definite work in progress.  But from that quiet comes my intention that I create for the day.

One of my favorites from this week was:

‘I greet this day with fluidity, moving into the spaces of my day – present and clear.’  

 

How do you get ready for the day?

5 Responses to “Starting the Day in a Deliberate Way”

  1. Marianne October 28, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    I love having a routine in the morning, it really sets me right for the whole day.
    -Get Up
    -Make my bed
    -Press button for coffee (pre-ground and set up the night before)
    -Shower
    -Chill at computer for a few
    -eat breakfast
    -head out the door
    and here is the best part Coffee plus music on the way.

    • leahannefox October 29, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      I love it. Sounds thoughtful with a seamless ending, transitioning you to your next part of day. Thanks for sharing & hope you are doing great!

  2. Tina Morrison October 29, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    Hi Leah,

    I love the idea of setting an intention. My first thing is a big glass of water then moving on to breakfast and thinking of all the ‘to-dos’. I might try something new. Thank you for sharing. Hope you’re well.

    Hugs,
    Tina

    • leahannefox October 29, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Hi Tina! Water is sooo important, a good thing to have after not having any for 7 + hours, or however long you are asleep for. I think you will really like setting an intention and seeing how it shows up in your day. Mine are sometimes only one sentence long, with the impending storm in mind today I set: I am infinitely flexible. More soon. 🙂

  3. valerienicole October 31, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Brilliant! And I would imagine so important for keeping balance in our life. I always hated it when Colin reached for his Blackberry before even getting out of bed. Now’s not much better, but that will have to change. I, like Tina, don’t do much before getting a glass of water. I’ve heard it’s better than any wrinkle cream!

Leave a Reply

