Maker vs Taker

23 Jul

Boy, what a gift it has been to be a student these past two weeks.  I have been soaking up all sorts of information in all types of forms, from yoga classes, to one big and juicy dance workshop, to preparing for the upcoming school year with trainings for technology, language immersion, and mindfulness.  I have certainly been taking.  But that’s OK – because I have spent the whole year making: teaching, planning, brainstorming, questioning, reflecting, researching, GIVING etc.  This is a sweet break to receive and reflect.

The buffer of time and space is VITAL for me to renew and reenergize so I can continue to be the fantastically productive, creative, thoughtful, and compassionate being that I strive to be.  I have rediscovered the beauty of the outer edges of my feet in downward facing dog, the power of planning lessons with the end in mind, and the fine balance of utilizing technology.

With technology as a big component of my school, we were prompted to complete the sentence:  My Digital Life is like … and there were many awesome responses:

  • the cheese section at Whole Foods (so many choices, you have your favorites that you always go to, sometimes you try something new, and sometimes you end up with a belly ache)
  • a black hole (where in the world did that past hour go?  what did I even do?)
  • a road trip (you know where you want to go, but sometimes you end up on these exciting detours discovering something new, and then other times you end up somewhere you really just don’t want to be

This conversation lead to the guideline of being a maker rather than a taker when it comes to using the internet (and can be applicable to many other parts of life).  What can be created?  What is the ratio of consuming vs. creating?  How often do I mindlessly check the Facebook feed, my email, then back to the newsfeed, and back to my email?  Well, when I am tired or waiting – a little too much, and rarely does that surfing leave me feeling better or more fulfilled.  How often do I put meaningful content out there?  …

What a clear way to put it: be a maker and not a taker.  I never thought of it like that, but I think with that model in my mind I may leave the computer feeling less drained and unrooted and perhaps more nourished and excited.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

